Files


Files

Camera

View Files & Folders

Files brings all your documents, presentations, spreadsheets, images, and other files together so that you can browse, search, and organize them in one place, including files in iCloud Drive and other cloud storage providers like Box and Dropbox.

View recent files and folders. Tap Recents at the bottom of the screen.

Tip: To see recent files from the Dock, touch and hold the Files icon.

Browse files and folders. Tap Browse at the bottom of the screen, then tap an item below Locations, Favorites, or Tags. To open a folder, tap it. (For information about marking folders and files as favorites or adding tags, see Organize files and folders.)

Open a file. Tap it. If you haven’t installed the app that created the file, a preview of the file opens in Quick Look.

Change how files and folders are sorted. From an open location or folder, drag down from the center of the screen and tap the Name, Date, Size, or Tags button.

Change to list view or icon view. From an open location or folder, drag down from the center of the screen, then tap .

Find a specific file or folder. Enter the name in the search field.

  • Hide the keyboard and see more results on the screen: Tap the Keyboard key .
  • Start a new search: Tap in the search field.
  • Open a result: Tap it.

Add a cloud storage service. Download the app from the App Store, then open the app and follow the onscreen instructions. Open Files, tap More Locations (below Locations in the Browse sidebar), then turn on the service.

Rearrange the Browse sidebar. Tap Edit at the top of the sidebar.

  • Hide a location: Turn it off.
  • Remove an item from the Favorites list: Tap "-" next to the item.
  • Delete a tag and remove it from all items: Tap "-" next to the tag.
  • Change the order of an item: Touch the 3 bars, then drag it to a new position.

Organize Files & Folders

To keep yourself better organized, use Files to create folders and move files between them.

Create a folder. Open a folder, drag down from the center of the screen, then tap the "folder plus" icon. (If you don’t see the New Folder button, you can’t create a folder in that location.)

Copy, duplicate, rename, move, or delete a file or a folder. Touch and hold the file or folder, then choose an option.

To duplicate, move, or delete multiple files or folders, tap Select, tap your selections, then tap an option at the bottom of the screen.

Some options may not be available depending on what’s selected; for example, you can’t delete an app library (a folder labeled with the app name).

Move a file or a folder with drag and drop. Touch and hold an item until it lifts up, then drag and drop it into a different folder or location. As you drag, A green "+" appears wherever you can drop the selection. To move multiple items, touch and hold an item, drag it slightly, then continue holding it while you tap additional items with another finger. To open a folder or location while touching and holding a selection, tap the folder or location with another finger.

Note: You can’t move an app library, which is a folder labeled with the app name.

Share a file. Touch and hold the file, then tap Share to do things like send a copy of a file or, with iCloud Drive, allow others to view or edit it.

To send a copy of a file, you can also open Mail or Messages in Split View or Slide Over, select one or more items in Files, then drag and drop your selection into a message.

Tag a file or folder. Touch and hold the file or folder, tap Tags, then tap one or more tags. To remove a tag, tap it again. When finished, tap Done. You can locate tagged items quickly in the Browse sidebar.

Mark a folder as a Favorite. Touch and hold the folder, then tap Favorite. You can locate favorite folders quickly in the Browse sidebar.

Use iCloud Drive

iCloud Drive is built into the Files app, so you can easily store files there and access them from all your devices. You can use iCloud Drive on iOS devices (iOS 8 or later), Mac computers (OS X 10.10 or later), and PCs (iCloud for Windows 5 or later or Windows 7 or later). To access iCloud Drive, you must be signed in to iCloud using your Apple ID. Storage limits are subject to your iCloud storage plan.

You can invite others to view and edit files in iCloud Drive by sending them a link to a file—you don’t need to send them a copy of the file. When you invite others to share a file, you can specify who can view it and who can edit it. When you allow people to edit a file, everyone’s changes are updated automatically.

Turn on iCloud Drive. Go to Settings > [your name] > iCloud, then turn on iCloud Drive.

Choose which apps use iCloud Drive. Go to Settings > [your name] > iCloud. Turn each of the listed apps on or off.

Open a file in another app. Touch and hold a file in iCloud Drive, tap Share, then choose an option.

Invite others to edit or view a file. Touch and hold a file in iCloud Drive, tap Share, tap , then do one of the following:

  • Allow only the people you invite to view and edit the file: Tap a method for sending a link to the file, enter any other requested information, then send or post the invitation. People need an Apple ID to open the file.
  • Choose other permission and access options: Tap Share Options, make any access and permission changes, then tap Add People (at the top of the screen). Tap a method for sending a link to the file, enter any other requested information, then send or post the invitation.
    • Share Options allow you to grant access to:
      • Only people you invite: Only people who sign in to iCloud with an Apple ID can open the file.
      • Anyone with the link: Anyone who has the link can open the file.
    • You can also set what others can do:
      • Can make changes: People can edit and print the shared file.
      • View only: People can view and print the shared file but not edit it.

If you don’t see the "add person" icon, the document may be owned by someone else who shared it with you. Tap to see the owner’s name.

Important: When you share a file, the link to it includes its filename. Therefore, if the name or content of the file is confidential, be sure to ask recipients not to forward the link to anyone else.

Invite more people to view or edit a file. If you’re the owner of a shared file whose access is set to “Only people you invite,” you can invite more people. Touch and hold the file, tap Share, tap "add person", then tap Add People. Tap a method for sending a link to the file, enter any other requested information, then send or post the invitation.

Note: If you’re the owner of the shared file and you move it to another folder or location, the link is broken and people lose access to the file.

Send a link to more people. If your file access is set to “Anyone with the link,” you can give new people access to the file by sending them the file link. Touch and hold the file, tap Share, tap , then tap Send Link. Tap a method for sending the link, enter any other requested information, then send or post the invitation.

Change access for everyone. If you’re the owner of the file, you can change its access at any time, but anyone you shared the link with is affected. Touch and hold the file, tap Share, tap Share Options, then tap the access setting you want.

If you change the setting from “Anyone with the link” to “Only people you invite,” the original link no longer works for anyone. Only people who receive an invitation from you can open the file, and they must sign in to iCloud with an Apple ID.

Change permission for everyone. If you’re the owner of a shared file with access set to “Only people you invite,” you can quickly change everyone’s permission. Touch and hold the file, tap Share, tap Share Options, then tap the permission setting you want.

Anyone who has the file open when you change the permission sees an alert. New settings take effect when they dismiss the alert.

Change permission or remove access for one participant. If you’re the owner of a shared file with access set to “Only people you invite,” you can change the permission for an individual without affecting the permission of others. You can also remove their access to the file. Touch and hold the file, tap Share, tap "add person," tap the person’s name, then tap an option.

Stop sharing a file. If you’re the owner of a shared file, you can stop sharing it. Touch and hold the file, tap Share, tap , then tap Stop Sharing.

Anyone who has the file open when you stop sharing sees an alert. The file closes when the alert is dismissed, and the file is removed from the participant’s iCloud Drive. The link to the file no longer works. If you later share the file again and set the access to “Anyone with the link,” the original link will work. If the access is set to “Only people you invite,” the original link will work again only for people you reinvite to share the file.